Gyaru & Books: The Search Begins!

Japanese Schoolgirl Inferno: Tokyo Teen Fashion Subculture Handbook by Patrick Macias & Izumi Evers. Illustrations by Kazumi Nonaka.

Okay, this post still counts for Thursday because I’ve been tired all day from moving and the computer wasn’t going as fast as it should. Please still expect Strapya Weekly later today!

Let’s talk about books! Now there’s the stereotype that Gyarus are bimbos because they rely on their looks instead of their brains. But that’s not true! In fact, the trends of Gyaru had mystified us Westerners since… well, ever.

I don’t think there’s anything really wrong with wanting to explore the culture. I mean, that’s why blogs like this and multiple others exist, right? And books are just another way of exploring that!

Before I decided to make Rainbow Chiffon (okay, before the school assignment), I wanted to research as much as I could about the Gyaru culture before I decided to become one. What did it mean to be a Gyaru? What’s to be expected from a Gyaru? What its history like? But when I started to search it on the Internet, I couldn’t really find some guides (this was before my friend made her guides, of course) or anything on the history about it! Well, there were some history out there but I felt that I was missing something from it and a lot of details were left out. I was kind of disappointed because as much as I wanted to ask my fellow Gyaru friends, I feel I would annoy them with all my questions.

Soon my birthday came and I got some extra birthday money. I’ve had a book recommended to me before called Japanese Schoolgirl Inferno: Tokyo Teen Fashion Subculture Handbook

It arrived very quickly and it gave me a very comprehensive look at the styles past, what the girls used and why they did it. They even gave a profile of what the girls would wear, typically, as well as the accessories and even the ideal boyfriend! They even include a “How-To” for how to put on Manba makeup. Also included a couple of “Day In the Lives”! Also, there are interviews from the older Gyarus and various creators of magazines and famous stores. It’s really interesting!

Unfortunately, the problem with books, especially when there’s the Internet and fashion fads especially, is that it’s not up to date. This book was made and published in 2006. This is 2012 and a lot of the things have either died quietly or changed drastically. As interesting as the history of the Gyaru that how the sub-styles started (such as the Sukeban and Nagomu influenced the Lady’s and possibly Decora), there is no way to learn about the current trends without the Internet.

The search is on, though, for more books about the history! While I’m probably not going to be able to find anything on current trends, I figure maybe I should check out even more history about the Gyarus! However, the only books that I know of, besides that one I mentioned earlier, are: Japanese Schoolgirl Coincidental: Teenage Nation (it’s focused on school girls more than anything), The Tokyo Look Book: Stylish To Spectacular, Goth To Gyaru, Sidewalk To Catwalk, and arguably Style Deficit Disorder: Harajuku Street Fashion – Tokyo (since it’s Harajuku focused).

But are they any good? Has anyone read this before? True, I can just read the reviews from Amazon but I’d rather hear it straight from the Gyarus themselves on what they think is a good book to read about a more in-depth history! Maybe I could end up creating a library filled with these books… Hmm…

What do you think? Do you know of any books that could help me on my quest? Or this doesn’t have to be about me! Are there any books you Gyarus are into? Who is your favorite author? What would you recommend to each other?

Also, feel free to vote and leave a comment on this post on how to improve Rainbow Chiffon!!

One Response to Gyaru & Books: The Search Begins!

  1. Pingback: My everyday make-up – (RE-BLOG)- OF CUPCAKESAKURA FASHION, AFFORDABLE, GYARU, FRIENDSHIP. « Netflowers – HOME

Leave a Star

