Yet Another Collaboration with Sanrio

As you have noticed, I haven’t updated Rainbow Chiffon in over a week. My apologies. Right now, I’m going through a lot of financial and personal strain and now the job market sucks really bad. However, I’m going to have to keep trying as that’s all I can do.

Anyway, I was checking through my email and disappointed since Strapya had yet another short sale when I saw that Sanrio had decided to have yet another collaboration with the company called Vans.

Even though Hello Kitty has been around since the 1970s, it seems that she’s becoming more and more popular. Thanks to the Internet, it’s getting easier to find and buy Hello Kitty (& co) merchandise and to retrieve them. Naturally, other companies want a piece of that Hello Kitty pie.

Already, at least according to their official website, Sanrio has already collaborated with: Apple, Asics, Camomilla, friendswithyou, Hanky Panky, Loungefly, Mighty Fine Tees, Misha Lulu, Momiji, Nao Figurines, Neivz, Simmons Jewelry, and, of course, tokidoki. Vans is just another name on that growing list.

Instead of selling just shoes, this line is going to sell backpacks, belts, socks, and t-shirts. They even have little shows for the little kids who wants to be styling with Hello KittyxVans shoes as well.


It’s only $65 (plus shipping)! And I don’t even know if they have my size!

Right now, it’s on pre-order on the Sanrio website (which is literally http://sanrio.com/) and on the Vans website (which is also literally http://vans.com/). As much as I can tell, it looks like they don’t sell the same things on both sites. Like that shoe up there would be more likely on the Sanrio website than the Vans site. Either way, being cute and adorable definitely costs a lot.

So what do you think? Is it evil for these companies to collaborate with Sanrio just to get in on the hype? Or is it just plain awesome? Feel free to leave me your thoughts in the comments!

Edit: I was actually just told that Vans does, in fact, have all the shoes – they also offer more sizes as well!

Leave a Star

