To Dye Or Not to Dye My Hair?

Picture courtesy of Simply A Dyehard.

I would never say that wanting to dye your hair a different color is just a phase, because it’s not. It really is a lifestyle.

As some of you noticed, there’s quite a few Gyarus and ulzzangs who do dye their hair and they coordinate their outfits which brings out their hair color beautifully. That seems like such a beautiful lifestyle only because they seem to have a budget for it. I had a yet another friend who had red, blue, and purple hair (not all at the same time) but she was also on a budget. And then she asked me the question.

“Have you ever considered dying your hair?”

I can easily say that I have thought about it but I never done it. Just thinking about it, I realize that I’m in my own financial bind. However, it was more than just a financial bind that I was in. What color could I choose? Would it look good on me? Would I be able to take care of it and make it as awesome as hers or others?

Another thing that came to mind is that I really like my natural hair color. It’s brown but it has all the other shades of brown together. Sometimes I’d find light brown, golden brown, and even dark brown. I’ve been told that my hair color’s extremely pretty for natural hair and I really can’t imagine any other color on my head.

Okay, that sounded really narcissistic of me but I really can’t describe my feelings about my hair color without getting a little vain about it. On the other hand, I did actually get highlights. They were not blonde but “icy”. I don’t have any old (and good) pictures of me with them but I didn’t really like them. I felt that they didn’t compliment me as well as they should have. My mother actually encouraged me to get it as she was getting her own grey hairs highlighted with blonde (not a good look for her) but then my mother isn’t the kind of woman who would urge me to do something unless she got something out of the deal.

Anyway, after I grew out the highlights and went as far to cut them out, I decided not to dye my hair again. It’s not my thing.

However, while I’m browsing Gyaru pictures and blogs, I never realize that I do envy people who do have such beautiful dye jobs.

I tend to envy those who can pull the outfits together. I keep saying this over and over but it’s true. Even now, I’m considering of breaking my “code” in never dying my hair and, well, just dye it. Express myself in different colors. Since I decided to check out this Tumblr blog, I realized that I can actually mix colors together to create a rainbow effect (like the picture above) instead of sticking to one color!

They also have tips, brand names to recommend, and an ask feature or I could always just ask people who are experienced in dye jobs. It seems like it could be a lot of fun and since I want to be Urban-Chan, maybe I could blend into that style as well! Experimentation is always a good idea to try. But am I really willing to change my rules just after one night glancing through Tumblr? Perhaps I should experiment with wigs instead… But, ah, they’re so expensive as well! What to do? What to do?

What would you do in a similar situation? Should I keep my lovely shade of brown or should I change it?

4 Responses to To Dye Or Not to Dye My Hair?

  1. Pingback: BEAUTY SCOOP: OMBRE “Dip – Dye” HAIR COLOR | Iman Mansour's Fashion Blog

  2. Ashley says:

    I know what you mean on the “to dye or not to dye” thing. I have an Asian friend who’s been trying to get me to dye my hair. She always dyes her hair light brown or blonde…and now that I think about it, I actually don’t think I’ve ever seen her with her natural black hair. >.>; It really is sort of a lifestyle to keep up. My sister has also recently taken to dyeing her hair blonde (she’s kind of annoying though because she likes to act like she’s naturally blonde (as in making comments about people who aren’t ~natural~ idek) when her hair is as brown as mine now).

    I personally do like my natural hair color, even if it has gotten a lot darker (I was blonde as a little kid ;;). Even though it is flat out brown now, I still have some natural highlights and a lot of gold strands in it. I would hate to lose that quality to my hair. Dyeing also makes me nervous because some people’s hair looks so fried and thin after dyeing so much. I want my hair to stay healthy for a long time, you know?

    If I were to dye my hair though, I really like this reddish-brown color: http://i48.tinypic.com/t5t0k9.jpg

    And as for you dyeing your hair, I like your hair the way it is now. But, I’m sure you’d look great in any other color :3

    • moonrabbit says:

      Yeah, I know what you mean! I had a friend in high school who dyed her hair at least once a year since she was in 6th grade, I believe and her hair was dried out by the time she was in 9th grade.

      Oh that’s such a pretty color! I think it’d look really good on you! And aww, thanks, Ashley. :3 I suppose I’ll just hold out then! ❤

  3. Pingback: Asmaria « Hey Klacenklai

Leave a Star

