Latina Gyarus? I Guess So…

They’re actually not Latinos – they’re Japanese.

You know, when one gets into a certain fashion, I feel it’s imperative that I learn the background, history, and more importantly the culture. This is something that’s never really and truly completed. It’s an ongoing process. I’m actually trying to find more books about the Gyaru fashion history and find more information about the sub cultures (Japanese Schoolgirl Inferno: Tokyo Teen Fashion Subculture Handbook is a good start but I feel that there’s more to it than that).

So imagine my surprise when I found out that other Latina girls are interested in Gyaru fashion. Honestly, I’ve been thinking about this sort of post for a while but I wanted to present it in a way that won’t make me out to be as big fat jealous jerk (though I’m sure it’s eventually going to happen). Anyway, I noticed a huge community even thought it seems that the fad is dying down in the online community.

And the majority of them speak Spanish and I don’t. Yes, I suppose it is unheard of and extremely rare that there are Hispanics and Latinos (actually I’m not even sure what to call myself since I’m half Mexican and half Salvadoran) who don’t speak Spanish. My issue is that I am looking for advice on what looks good. I know Asian Gyarus, black Gyarus, and white Gyarus – but hardly any Latina Gyarus. I would like someone I can relate to, you know? And also someone who is from that background could help me find other ways to merge what we already do and apply it to Gyaru.

But one of my friends tweeted me this rapper. I thought she was a Latina rapper but it turns out that she’s Japanese.

I asked my friend about the style she was wearing – was she someone who was trying to bring the cholita style to Japan?

It turns out that there’s a whole style. A whole style.

Personally, I’m not offended by this. Of course that doesn’t mean that all Latina Gyarus feel the same way (I wouldn’t know if they posted about this in English and I haven’t come across it yet). I mean, if I can be inspired and want to wear the same thing as they do in the streets of Shibuya and Harajuku – why can’t they do the same for my culture?

Although most people can agree that this is just straight out offensive.

But there’s actually a name for this style according to this tumblr: J-Chola – a girl who follows the fashion of/and inspired by Latino, and Hispanic performers, artists, cholas, and thugs. *Not all cholas, are gyaru or claim to be.*

Okay, we’ll, I’m glad that they actually don’t think they’re cholas or whatever.

I’m mostly in awe more than anything that such a thing exists. Although, I wouldn’t be surprised that they’re not from Los Angeles or anywhere that has a populated Latino community.

There’s also a brand called anap Latina (unless I somehow read the name wrong – just let me know if I got it right). Their clothes are cute but I feel that’s a rip off when I can find similar threads here in the US and at a cheaper price.

So what do you think? Is this insulting, interesting, innovative, or doomed to fail?

One Response to Latina Gyarus? I Guess So…

  1. Pingback: Top Five Dos and Don’ts in the KPOP & JPOP World « { rainbow chiffon }

Leave a Star

